Home Bright Sparcs
Biographical entry

Home | Browse | Search | Previous | Next
Be a Bright Sparcs Supporter

Madsen, John Percival Vissing (1879 - 1969)

Image of Madsen, John Percival Vissing
Online SourcesArchival/Heritage SourcesPublished Sources
Physicist and Electrical engineer
Born: 24 March 1879  Lochinvar, New South Wales, Australia.  Died: 4 October 1969  Chatswood, New South Wales.
(Sir) John Percival V. Madsen was Lecturer in Physics, University of Adelaide 1901-09 and Associate Professor and Professor of Electrical Engineering, University of Sydney 1909-49. He was Chairman of the Radio Research Board (1926-1957) and a great many other bodies and boards including the National Association of Testing Authorities. Masden is featured on the ATERB Medal, which is awarded under the auspices of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering. ATERB (Australian Telecommunications & Electronics Research Board) was formerly the Radio Research Board, of which Madsen was founding chairman.

Career Highlights

1900Bachelor of Science (BSc) completed at the University of Sydney
1901Bachelor of Engineering (BE) completed at the University of Sydney
1901 - 1903Lecturer in Mathematics and Physics at the University of Adelaide
1904 - 1909Lecturer in Electrical Engineering at the University of Adelaide
1907Doctor of Science (DSc) received from the University of Adelaide
1909 - 1912Lecturer in Electrical Engineering at the University of Sydney
1912 - 1949Assistant Professor then Professor (from 1920) of Electrical Engineering at the University of Sydney
1915 - 1918Commanding Officer of the Engineer Officers' Training School in Roseville, New South Wales
1926 - 1957Chairman of the Radio Research Board
1938 - 1944Chairman of the National Standards Laboratory
1939 - 1942Chairman of the Radiophysics Advisory Board
1944Peter Nicol Russell Memorial Medal received from the Institution of Engineers, Australia
1945Chairman of the Australian National Research Council
1945 - 1966Chairman of the Electrical Research Board
1946 - 1947President of the Institute of Physics, Australian branch
1954 - Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science (FAA)

Online SourcesPublished Sources
See Also

Structure based on ISAAR(CPF) - click here for an explanation of the fields.Prepared by: McCarthy, G.J.
Created: 20 October 1993
Modified: 4 December 2006

Published by The University of Melbourne eScholarship Research Centre on ASAPWeb, 1994 - 2007
Originally published 1994-1999 by Australian Science Archives Project, 1999-2006 by the Australian Science and Technology Heritage Centre
Disclaimer, Copyright and Privacy Policy
Submit any comments, questions, corrections and additions
Prepared by: Acknowledgements
Updated: 26 February 2007

[ Foundation Supporter - Committee to Review Australian Studies in Tertiary Education ]
[ Top of page | Bright Sparcs Home | Browse | Search ]