Home Bright Sparcs
Biographical entry

Home | Browse | Search | Previous | Next
Be a Bright Sparcs Supporter

Lehany, Frederick John (1915 - 1994)

Online Sources
Born: 10 April 1915  New Zealand.  Died: 6 August 1994  Sydney, New South Wales, Australia.
Frederick John Lehany worked for CSIR/O as Chief of the Division of Electrotechnology. This gradually became amalgamated with other divisions to form the National Measurement Laboratory, of which he became the first director in 1974. The main lecture room at the Laboratory was named the Lehany Theatre in his memory. Lehany was appointed an Officer in the Order of Australia (AO) and received an Doctor of Science honoris causa (Hon DSc) from the University of Sydney.

Career Highlights

1935Bachelor of Science (BSc) completed at the University of Otago, New Zealand
1936Master of Science (MSc) completed at the University of Otago
1937Dip Hons completed at the University of Otago
1938Teacher in New Zealand
1939 - 1945Physicist with Amalgamated Wireless Australasia
1945 - 1948Senior Research Officer at the CSIR (Council for Scientific and Industrial Research) Division of Radiophysics
1948 - 1961Senior Research Officer at the CSIR/ CSIRO (Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation) Division of Electrotechnology
1949 - 1961Chief of the CSIRO Division of Electrotechnology
1961 - 1974Chief of the CSIRO Division of Applied Physics
1974 - 1979Director of the National Measurement Laboratory

Online Sources

Structure based on ISAAR(CPF) - click here for an explanation of the fields.Prepared by: McCarthy, G.J.
Created: 20 October 1993
Modified: 30 May 2006

Published by The University of Melbourne eScholarship Research Centre on ASAPWeb, 1994 - 2007
Originally published 1994-1999 by Australian Science Archives Project, 1999-2006 by the Australian Science and Technology Heritage Centre
Disclaimer, Copyright and Privacy Policy
Submit any comments, questions, corrections and additions
Prepared by: Acknowledgements
Updated: 26 February 2007

[ Foundation Supporter - Committee to Review Australian Studies in Tertiary Education ]
[ Top of page | Bright Sparcs Home | Browse | Search ]