[Health & Medicine Museums Newsletter - 10 K]
HMM Newsletter - Number 11, December 1996 ISSN 1036-3041

Previous Page Next Page


The Health and Medicine Museums SIG Annual General Meeting was held on Wednesday 30 October 1996, following the seminar on Managing health and medicine museums in the 90s.

The president, Janice Bate and members of the national executive, Megan Hicks, Margaret Thompson, Barbara Wright, Roger Trudgeon and Philip Thomson were present, together with 30 members. Apologies were received from Jeremy Graham, Treasurer, and Gavan McCarthy, Secretary, and other members. Janice Bate welcomed everyone to the meeting and proceeded to the election of the new national executive. She was pleased that the New South Wales committee had agreed to undertake the task and she agreed to remain on the executive as Vice President. Ian Cope was elected President for the ensuing two years, Megan Hicks as Secretary, Alan Bourne as Treasurer, and Philip Thomson and Margaret Thompson as representatives on the national committee. Other members would be co-opted (see below).

Ian Cope thanked Janice on behalf of the membership for her initiative in setting up the Health and Medicine Museums group six years ago and for her continuing work in fostering the group. He also thanked the outgoing committee for the work they have done.

Ian Cope

HMM National Committee

Dr Ian Cope, Royal Hospital for Women, Paddington, NSW

Mrs Janice Bate, Melbourne

Megan Hicks, Powerhouse Museum, Sydney

Mr Alan Bourne, Royal Hospital for Women, Paddington, NSW

Committee members and state representatives (elected and co-opted)
Ms Hilery Belton, Royal Australian College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists, Melbourne
Mr Brian Hill, The Glass Stopper, Kingsgrove, NSW
Ms Margaret Thompson, Australian War Memorial , Canberra
Dr Philip Thomson, Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery, Hobart
Ms Barbara Wright, Fairfield Hospital, Victoria
Ms Joy Yarad, Brislington, Parramatta, NSW

Representatives for South Australia, Western Australia and Queensland are still being sought. The national committee would like to hear from volunteers or from people who would like to nominate representatives.

Previous Page Next Page

Back to HMM Home Page] Published by the Australian Science Archives Project on ASAPWeb, 20 March 1997
Prepared by: Lisa Cianci and Lisa O'Sullivan
Updated by: Elissa Tenkate
Date modified: 18 September 1997

[ Top of page | HMM Home Page | HMM Newsletter Contents | ASAPWeb ]