Home Bright Sparcs
Biographical entry

Home | Browse | Search | Previous | Next
Be a Bright Sparcs Supporter

Oliphant, Marcus Laurence Elwin (1901 - 2000)

Go to Gallery Page Oliphant, Marcus Laurence Elwin
Online SourcesArchival/Heritage SourcesPublished SourcesGallery
Born: 8 October 1901  Kent Town, South Australia, Australia.  Died: 14 July 2000  Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia.
(Sir) Marcus Laurence E. Oliphant was Director of the Research School of Physical Sciences, Australian National University 1950-63, and first President of the Australian Academy of Science 1954-56. He continued as professor at ANU 1964-67 and was Governor of South Australia 1971-76.

Career Highlights
Born 8 October 1901. Died Canberra, 14 July 2000. KBE cr 1959, AC 1977. Educated University of Adelaide and Cambridge. Messel Research Fellow, Royal Society 1931, lecturer and Fellow, St John's College 1934, Assistant Director of Research, Cavendish Laboratory, Cambridge 1935, Australian Representative of Atomic Energy Commission 1946, Poynting Professor of Physics, University of Birmingham 1937-50, Vice-Principal 1948-49, Director, Research School of Physical Sciences, Australian National University 1950-63, Professor of Physics of Ionised Gases, Honorary Fellow, Institute of Advanced Studies, Australian National University 1964-67, Governor of South Australia 1971-76. Fellow, Royal Society 1937, Hughes Medal, Royal Society 1943, Silvanius Thomson Medal, Institute of Radiology 1946, Trasenoter, l'Association des Ingenieurs, Liege 1947, Faraday Medal, Institution of Electrical Engineers 1948, Foundation Fellow, Australian Academy of Science 1954, President of the Australian Academy of Science 1954-57, Bakerian Lecture, Royal Society 1955, Rutherford Memorial Lecture, Royal Society 1955, Galathea Medal, H.M. The King of Denmark 1956, Australian Institution of Production Engineers Medal 1958, Matthew Flinders Medal, Australian Academy of Science 1961, James Cook Medal, The Royal Society of New South Wales 1974, Foundation Fellow, Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering 1975, ANZAAS Medal 1979.
Online SourcesPublished Sources
See Also

Structure based on ISAAR(CPF) - click here for an explanation of the fields.Prepared by: McCarthy, G.J.
Created: 20 October 1993
Modified: 9 August 2006

Published by The University of Melbourne eScholarship Research Centre on ASAPWeb, 1994 - 2007
Originally published 1994-1999 by Australian Science Archives Project, 1999-2006 by the Australian Science and Technology Heritage Centre
Disclaimer, Copyright and Privacy Policy
Submit any comments, questions, corrections and additions
Prepared by: Acknowledgements
Updated: 26 February 2007

[ Foundation Supporter - Committee to Review Australian Studies in Tertiary Education ]
[ Top of page | Bright Sparcs Home | Browse | Search ]