Home Bright Sparcs
Biographical entry

Home | Browse | Search | Previous | Next
Be a Bright Sparcs Supporter

Boger, David Vernon (1939 - )

Online Sources
Chemical engineer
Born: 13 November, 1939
David Vernon Boger is Director of the Particulate Fluids Processing Centre, Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, University of Melbourne. Working with the operators of the Moonie pipeline, was able to define an effective method of modifying the flow conditions with a pour-point depressant. This enabled ICI Australia to screen rapidly in their Research Laboratory a range of pour-point depressants to arrive at their RP39G, which is now being used in the pipeline. It was a good example of University-Industry collaboration.

Career Highlights
Professor Boger’s fundamental research into fluid elasticity has led to an understanding of fluid behaviour across industries, enabling them to be designed for different purposes. Examples of now-called ‘Boger fluids’ include tomato sauce, toothpaste, molten plastics and mineral slurries. His work has been central to such activities as food processing, plastics manufacturing and the functioning of our joints. David Boger was awarded the Prim Minister's Prize for Science in 2005.

Born 13 November, 1939. Educated Bucknell University, Lewisburg, Pa (BSChemEng 1961) and University of Illinois (MSChemEng 1964, PhDChemEng 1965). Lecturer, Department of Chemical Engineering, Monash University 1965-71, Senior Lecturer 1971-80, Reader 1980-82; Professor of Chemical Engineering, University of Melbourne 1982-present; Deputy Dean, Faculty of Engineering 1988-90, Associate Dean (Research), Faculty of Engineering 1990-92, Deputy Director, Advanced Mineral Products Centre (An Australian Research Council Special Research Centre) 1991-present, Research Program Leader, CRC for Industrial Biopolymers (An Australian Government Co-operative Research Centre) 1992-present. American Institute of Chemical Engineers Local Section Award 1961; Distinguished Chemical Engineering Graduate, Bucknell University 1976; Annual Award, British Society of Rheology 1983; Royal Society of Victoria Medal for Research 1985; Fellow, Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering 1989; Esso Award for Excellence in Chemical Engineering 1991; Fellow, Australian Academy of Science 1993; Pol Eureka Prize for Environmental Research 1993; Australian Society of Rheology Medallion 1994; Walter Ahlstorm Prize, Finnish Academies of Technology 1995; CSIRO External Medal 1999.

Online Sources
See Also

Structure based on ISAAR(CPF) - click here for an explanation of the fields.Prepared by: Rosanne Walker
Created: 25 May 2001
Modified: 5 October 2005

Published by The University of Melbourne eScholarship Research Centre on ASAPWeb, 1994 - 2007
Originally published 1994-1999 by Australian Science Archives Project, 1999-2006 by the Australian Science and Technology Heritage Centre
Disclaimer, Copyright and Privacy Policy
Submit any comments, questions, corrections and additions
Prepared by: Acknowledgements
Updated: 26 February 2007

[ Foundation Supporter - ARC Learned Academies' Special Projects ]
[ Top of page | Bright Sparcs Home | Browse | Search ]